Puzzle Piece wins World’s Best New and Old Building at WAF Awards 2011

Puzzle Piece, Spain, designed by Romera y Ruiz Arquitectos

Puzzle Piece, Spain, designed by Romera y Ruiz Arquitectos, has won the ‘World’s Best New and Old Building’ award at the prestigious World Architecture Festival (WAF) Awards 2011.

The presentation of the WAF Awards are taking place during the largest global celebration of architecture – the World Architecture Festival, which is being held at the Centre Convencions International Barcelona (CCIB) this week.

The brief demanded a cover solution for the existing patio of the Infant School ´La Herradura’ that would generate naturally ventilated shadowed areas and protection from the sun and rain for the childrens’ games. The result is this sort of puzzle piece that inserts itself into the old, subtle dialogue by barely touching it, almost floating like a cloud, with light flooding the existing walls.

The building was selected by a panel of esteemed architects and designers, beating off competition from a shortlist of 17 entries.

Puzzle Piece, Spain, designed by Romera y Ruiz Arquitectos

Speaking at the WAF Awards 2011 Paul Finch, WAF Programme Director, said: “The World Architecture Festival is the world’s largest, live, truly inclusive and interactive global architectural awards programme. Attracting entries from internationally renowned practices to small local architects, the stellar quality of this year’s designs demonstrates their commitment to designing the world’s most exciting buildings. This year we’ve attracted more entries than ever before, with over 700 submissions from 66 different countries. Our congratulations go to the winners for a truly accomplished project.”

This is the 4th year the World Architecture Festival Awards have been presented, and by the end of the awards 38 WAF Awards will have been announced across the three main sections of Completed Buildings, Structural Design and Future Projects. The Festival culminates with the announcement of the prestigious ‘World Building of the Year 2011’ award.Previous winners include ‘World Building of the Year 2008’ – Luigi Bocconi University, Milan, designed by Irish practice Grafton Architects; ‘World Building of the Year 2009’ – Mapungubwe Interpretation Centre in South Africa, designed by Peter Rich Architects of Johannesburg, and ‘World Building of the Year 2010’ – MAXXI (National Museum of the 21st Century Arts) in Rome, designed by Zaha Hadid Architects.

The WAF Awards see unsung local buildings take on internationally acclaimed projects in what is the world’s biggest architecture contest. Unlike other architectural competitions, architects present their work in front of leading industry judges and a live public audience as they compete for the accolade of ‘World Building of the Year’.

Web: www.worldarchitecturefestival.com
Source: v2com.biz

Leave a Reply