Advertise here

David Chipperfield Won RIBA Stirling Prize for The First Time


The Museum of Modern Literature in Marbach am Neckar

The Museum of Modern Literature in Marbach am Neckar, Germany, won the RIBA Stirling Prize for architecture. The museum was designed by David Chipperfield Architects and chosen among other five competitors including America’s Cup Building, Valencia, Spain; Casa da Musica, Porto, Portugal; Dresden Station Redevelopment, Germany; The Savill Building, Windsor; The Young Vic Theatre, London. According to the judges, as reported by, the Museum of Modern Literature is simultaneously rich and restrained, a trick Chipperfield pulls off as well as any architect working today.

About RIBA Stirling Prize
The Royal Institute of British Architects Stirling Prize is a British prize for excellence in architecture. It is named after the architect James Stirling (1926-1982), organised and awarded annually by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA).

The RIBA Stirling Prize is awarded to “the architects of the building which has made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year.” The architects must be RIBA members, but the building can be anywhere in the European Union.

Via dezeen | Buy The Stirling Prize: Ten Years of Architecture And Innovation (Hardcover) at

The Museum of Modern Literature in Marbach am Neckar
Read more:
WAF 2012 Winner ‘Hotel and Leisure’ : Victoria Tower in Kista, Sweden / by Wingårdh Arkitektkontor

The Victoria Tower in Kista, Sweden, designed by Wingårdh Arkitektkontor, has won the hotel category. The judges praised the high...